Skip to content
The world's leading Mystery magazine

Major Mystery Prizes and Awards

The brief descriptions of the major mystery prizes provided below illustrate the breadth and richness of the genre.

Agatha: Awarded by Malice Domestic conference for “traditional” mysteries.

American Mystery Award: Awarded by Mystery Scene magazine.

Anthony: Awarded by annual world mystery convention (Bouchercon).

Barry Award: Awarded by Deadly Pleasures magazine in honor of late fan reviewer Barry Gardner.

The Dagger Award: Awarded by the British Crime Writers’ Association, the Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years.

Derringer: Sponsored by the Short Mystery Fiction Society. Includes Best Short Story and Best Novella categories.

Edgar: Awarded by Mystery Writers of America (MWA) since 1946, it is the most famous and prestigious award in the mystery field.

Ellery Queen Award: Established by MWA in 1983 “to honor outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry.”

Arthur Ellis: Awarded by the Crime Writers Association of Canada.

EQMM Contest: Annual EQMM contests 1946-57 and 1962. In their time, they were considered the most prestigious awards for the mystery short story.

EQMM-CWA Contest: Contests sponsored by EQMM in 1967, 1968, and 1970—open to members of the Crime Writers Association (CWA) of England.

EQMM-MWA Contest: Contest sponsored by EQMM in 1968—open to members of MWA.

EQMM Readers Award: Annual, since 1985, selection by readers of EQMM of their favorite stories.

Robert L. Fish Award: Sponsored by the estate of the late writer (and administered by MWA), it honors the best first short story by an American author.

Macavity: Awarded by Mystery Readers International.

Derrick Murdoch Award: “A discretionary award given to outstanding contributions to the genre in Canada” by the Crime Writers Association of Canada.

Ellen Nehr Award: Sponsored by the American Crime Writers League and given for excellence in reviewing.

Outstanding Western Story: Awarded by the Cowboy Hall of Fame and Western Heritage Center.

Oxford University Press Short Story Contest: In connection with their 1991 anthology The Oxford Book of English Detective Stories.

Raven: Awarded by MWA for “outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside of the realm of creative writing.”

Semana Negra: Awarded by annual crime workshop in Gijon, Spain.

Shamus: Awarded by the Private Eye Writers of America (PWA).

Back To Top
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop