About The Editor

Janet Hutchings is a winner of the Mystery Writers of America’s Ellery Queen Award and the Malice Domestic Convention’s Poirot Award, and in 2003 she was honored by the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention for contributions to the field. Under her editorship EQMM was named Best Magazine/Review Publication by Bouchercon 27 and in 2017 will be celebrated by Bouchercon 48 for Distinguished Contribution to the Genre.

Janet began her career in publishing at the Doubleday Book Clubs, where her lifelong enjoyment of mysteries was enhanced by the opportunity to read for the Mystery Guild, to which virtually every mystery or crime novel scheduled for publication in the U.S. was submitted for possible inclusion. After a stint at another book club that included mysteries in its lineup, she became Mystery Editor for Walker & Company, where among her many authors was current New York Times bestseller Charlaine Harris. A series of anthologies of stories from Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine was also part of her list at Walker, and this fortuitous connection to the magazine led to her being interviewed as a possible successor to EQMM editor Eleanor Sullivan—a position she has held since Eleanor’s death in 1991.

Among Janet’s contributions to EQMM’s contemporary lineup of world- class mystery and crime fiction is the Passport to Crime department, in which stories from Europe, Asia, South America, and Africa are translated on a regular basis. In recognition of the contribution that department has played in bringing writers from around the world to the attention of the American public, Janet was honored by the New York branch of the International Association of Crime Writers.

Website design and development by Americaneagle.com, Inc.

Close this window
Close this window

Sign up for special offers, information on
upcoming issues and more!

Signup Now No, Thanks